Sunday, August 03, 2003

How to request a review

Since I already review romances at one other site, Dark Divas, this site will be generally dedicated to paranormal M/M books. UPDATE: I will also now be accepting M/M books that are in the contemporary and historical genres. No sci-fi or steampunk for now. Sorry, that's just not my preferred reading material.

However, if your book does fit that criteria, please read the following to see if my policies work for you, and I would be happy to review it. Now, I cannot guarantee a review, but if your blurb interests me, I will certainly try!


  • Send the blurb, cover and links to the book you want reviewed in an email to: mslasha @ gmail {dot} com. If you could include a word count/page number, that would be awesome. 
  •  I am only willing to review m/m at this point. Sorry, no m/m/m or m/f/m.
  •  Be aware I cross-post to GoodReads and Amazon. If for some reason, I don't give your book the rating you think it deserves, know that it will also be posted to those sites too. But, if I love your book, I will rave about it on those sites. So that policy could open up more sales if it goes in your favor! *g* (No, I don't cross-post to DDR or Jessewave, they have different criteria for reviews. Sorry.)
  •  If your book contains the following, I am sorry, but I won't be able to review it. Please don't ask for an exception, as these are my personal reading preferences. No go's: rape, incest, cheating between the main characters after they get together, threesomes or heavy BDSM (light BDSM is fine). 
  •  Clarification: I am fine with trans*/bi characters as love interests. I also read m/m books that contain m/f subplots (e.g. J.R. Ward's Lover at Last). I cut my teeth reading Harlequin Romances as a teen, so I love a good m/f romance story. I prefer HEA, but will read HFN.
  • Now since this is a site for (mostly) paranormal reviews, I absolutely love: Insta-Love between mates, mpreg, knotting, blood play (vampires) and supernatural things. Throw in a serial killer or two and I'm your girl! (Yes, I know I am weird. *g*) 

As for my qualifications to review your book. Well, I have been 'professionally' reviewing for over three years with two other review sites and even longer on Amazon. I like what I like. I've never claimed to be a lover a great literature, I just adore romance books. I try to be fair and honest in all my reviews and not knowingly rip a book apart. But, I will give constructive criticism if warranted, so be aware of that before you submit to me. If you need examples of my previous reviews, go here.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sunday, July 13, 2003

Site Timeline

Here is the normal breakdown of what I do and when I do it on Lasha's Paranormal Reviews:

Mondays/Tuesdays - Guest Author Interviews with Giveaways

Wednesdays - Feature Author Spotlight Days (might include a giveaway, might not) as authors showcase their newest releases.

Fridays - I review books (usually Friday or Saturdays)

Sunday, June 29, 2003

Sunday, May 11, 2003

A new story that two my two favorite fandoms, Highlander and Smallville and interweaves them together. The story is called Best Intentions and is part three of a series by Joyfulgirl41. The pairing is Clark/Lex and Duncan/Methos. (In part one of the series, Things We Cannot Change, there is a brief Lex/Methos scene, but after that it is purely Clark/Lex!). This story has a Jealous!Clark, a plot I always enjoy and finally Duncan and Methos get a clue about being together. So, you have two couples getting it on, just not one! A delight...go and do yourself a favor and read it.

Sunday, April 27, 2003

Some great fiction was posted this week and I mean great! Here's a listing of things you should run out and read if you want your Clex fix!

1. Indigo is His Own by Rhiannonhero, which is a sequel to the fabulous, Blue Always Knew. It features a college-age Clark (my personal favorite plot in any SV fiction) and Clark and Lex doing the nasty -- but this time its Lex who is freaked out (he's never been with a guy before) and how Clark handles it...well, just go and read it, you won't regret it!

2. This has to be one of the best gender-bending fics I've ever seen and I've read some crappy ones. *g* Again, Rhiannonhero is my pick of the week for an author who has really grown in her writing and deserves to be rec'd. If gender-bending and mpreg's aren't your style...skip this one, But if you have any open mind and want some hot fiction, read C'est La Vie!"

3. For interesting PWP, try Spyhop's Windblown. An original take on what Lex would do if he found out about Clark's powers after they were already lovers.

On a beautiful Sunday like this, I can think of nothing better to do then, print up these stories, sit on my patio and read!

Wednesday, February 19, 2003

Being snowed in has its advantages, I can read lots of Smallville fiction! But sadly, I have none to recommend. I will keep looking.

Thursday, February 06, 2003

I found it! I found it! A great Smallville story, it's called I Let You Down and is a post-Rush Clark/Lex fiction that fixes all the wrongs of the past two episodes between the guys. Yeah! I just wish the writers of SV would get on the same clue bus as Joyfulgirl.

Wednesday, January 22, 2003

Normally I like deep and dark fics, but this cute and truly funny piece by Caro is a delight to read. Foreign Relations will make you want to eat snails -- you have to read the story to understand. But, don't take my word for it...go and read!

Friday, January 03, 2003

A very funny Smallville futurefic story was posted last week and I have been so busy with real life problems, that I had forgotten to recommend it. The story is called, That Old Schizophrenic Jealousy by: Lenore. A twisted tale about Clark being jealous of himself (Superman), who is sleeping with Lex Luthor. Yes, I know Clark is Superman; but Clark thinks that is the only way he can have Lex is pretend he is Superman when they are together as Lex wouldn't want plain 'ol Clark Kent. In the process of this tale, Clark becomes increasing jealous of Superman and Lex's relationship until that jealous boils over with surprising results. An original and cute idea, I loved it.